Tags

, ,

Time for an Italian-esque vegan food post. Being me I was instantly intrigued by a vegan sauce themed blog I came across. Any themed blogs easily catch my foodtention. This trend started a while back with Dumbledore’s Vegan Army ( a Harry Potter themed vegan blog!).

Reminiscent of Rice?

Noting that I have been meaning to use some Orzo my mom gave me (supposedly healthier than regular pasta, and vegan!) this was the blog made for me cosmically, in my task of making a vegan Italian pasta sauce.  Here’s the recipe, to which I added green olives, a fresh tomato, and an excess of fresh dill. If you aren’t vegan, I would suggest feta as a finishing garnish.

Roasted Garlic Basil Sauce (find the original here)
4 lg garlic cloves
1 med zucchini
3/4 cup packed fresh basil leaves
1/4 cup packed fresh flat leafed parsley
1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice

Instructions
Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
Wrap garlic cloves tightly in foil. Cut Zucchini into 1/4 inch
thick slices and season with salt and pepper. Put foil wrapped garlic
and zucchini on a baking sheet and roast in the middle of the oven until
garlic is tender and zucchini is pale golden (about 15 minutes). Unwrap
garlic and cool.

Have ready a bowl of ice water. In a saucepan of boiling water, blanch
basil and parsley 10 seconds and drain in a sieve. Refresh herbs in ice
water to stop cooking and drain in sieve. (Sauce ingredients can be
prepared up to this point 1 day ahead and kept separately, covered and
chilled.)

In a blender, blend garlic, zucchini, herbs, water, and lemon
juice until smooth, about 1 minute. Season with salt and pepper. Makes
about 1 cup.

